Getting to know Vigan

Antique Shop

Antique Shop

I am just writing what I can still remember.

This trip was a 2nd anniversary(we’re going on third) gift from my boyfriend. He knew I have always wanted to go here. We stayed in Vigan for two nights.

Before we start, here are the things that I knew I should try in Vigan:

  • Tour it
  • LONGGANISA
  • TAPA
  • Puque puque

Here we go.

We left the city by bus at 9pm and we arrived at Vigan at 4am. We immediately looked for a hotel with a reasonable price as we don’t plan on staying in that much. We found one for P900 per night in Mojica Residencia Hotel. It was a small room with AC, TV, and its own bathroom.

After settling our things down at the hotel, we ate breakfast at a coffee shop which name I forgot, I think it was Coffee Break. First try at a random coffee shop and I already fell in love with their longganisa and tapa.

And on the day went. The adventure was affordable. We rented a tricycle for P500 for the whole trip. Kalesas (horse carriages) cost P700 but we opted for a tricycle because it would be faster that way. All of the places we visited do not ask for entrance fee. Rather, they ask for donations.

IMG_20140726_084026

This is the Bantay Bell Tower. Bantay means to guard which was what they did here during the war

The most fun experience during the whole trip for me was the claypot-making!

Pot-making!! The mud felt good for the skin

Pot-making!! The mud felt good for the skin

Mirrors used to be expensive in the earlier eras because they had to be imported. In the early Philippines, owning a mirror lets people know you are rich

Mirrors used to be expensive in the earlier eras because they had to be imported. In the early Philippines, owning a mirror lets people know you are rich

He's trying to crochet

He’s trying to crochet

I bought a crochet-ed blanket here for P200. It is still my favorite blanket to date.

This is in the Hidden Garden. The BEST empanada costs P40

This is in the Hidden Garden. The BEST empanada costs P40

THE BEST AVOCADO ICE CREAM

THE BEST AVOCADO ICE CREAM

Vigan at night

Vigan at night

The boyfriend inside the Bantay Bell Tower

The boyfriend inside the Bantay Bell Tower

He took this photo here because his late-grandfather had same photo in the same spot with the same pose

He took this photo here because his late-grandfather had same photo in the same spot with the same pose

After the trip, we had dinner at Cafe Leona where he had made a reservation (and I thought, “you made a reservation for this but not for the hotel. Hahaha!”). It was an Italian restaurant and I remember liking their pasta.

On the second day, we didn’t do much except walk around Vigan. For lunch, we tried Gaizel’s carienderia. The boyfriend said he had read so much about it and, thank God, it didn’t disappoint! The food was very affordable (carinderia price at P20+/dish) and delicious!

Before leaving on the third day, I didn’t let myself miss the opportunity to try Puke-Puke. It is a dish made with eggplant and ground pork.

Looking back, I knew made the most out of the trip and that I was able to do everything I needed to try and the ones I didn’t know about. However, I just wish I haven’t been so shy to take good pictures. Back then, I didn’t want to look like a tourist.

I couldn’t remember much about the trip because it is almost a year ago. Except that I loved the food (obviously, it is mostly what I can remember) and that I enjoyed the view. It was really a memorable experience for me. And I thank the best boyfriend ever for it!!

AM

Leave a Reply

